Enrico Crivellaro - Freewheelin’ (Electro-Fi, 2012)

Alumni of Ronnie Earl and Duke Robillard, Italian born Enrico Crivellaro is already an established Blues institution deserving his own place on world Blues scene with years of backing such acclaimed artists as James Harman, Jason Ricci, Janiva Magness, David Rotundo, and Finis Tasby until going on his own using experience gathered to release four critically acclaimed solo works.

Freewheelin’ is his fifth and last work so far. Twelve tracks of this album will take you to the joyful journey discovering amenities of various styles of deeply electrified Blues although presence of elements even from other genres is discovered though to a lesser extent but every time this happens Crivellaro moves back to where he feels best, to the boogified up-tempo Blues where his talents as a blistering guitarist could be shown at its entirety “Blackout”, “Super Cooker”, “Only For Lucy”, “Universal Rock”, and “Hymn To King Solomon” being best examples. From vigorous “Blackout” to “Mr. Willits Playboy” his grinding guitar will never leave you reaching its culmination on “Can You Dig It” composition being the highlight of the album.

Considering creeping of other genres (or interest in other genres or commercial appeal) a bit change of vector could be declared but work still must be defined as a Blues album. With the help of Pietro Taucher on keyboards the work sound even better.

Recording information: Artesuono, Udine, Italy.

Track List

01. Blackout
02. Super Cooker
03. Chulahoma
04. Forever Free
05. Only For Lucy
06. Popcorn Jack
07. T-Soul
08. Universal Rock
09. Hymn To King Solomon
10. Can You Dig It
11. In A Sentimental Mood
12. Mr. Willits Playboy