James Cotton - Cotton Mouth Man (Alligator, 2013)

If we consider performing and recording Blues harmonica players, surely James Cotton is the most respected name on the scene having over sixty years of professional experience as a Blues harmonica player and singer with roots in Muddy Waters’ and Howlin’ Wolf’s bands thus being one of the last representatives of true electrified Chicago Blues.

This is not an ordinarily good work; this is not an ordinarily great work; Cotton Mouth Man is an album that stands apart from everything Mr. Cotton has done before, both as a leader or accompanist, apart even from his works of highest critical acclaim. It stands higher, in the Blues stardom and should already be considered a treasure.

Dynamic; charged with the power of disastrous hurricane; unstoppable; infinite; otherworldly; all these definitions can characterize this album. Self-confident; ambitious; generic; authentic; these definitions as well, and many other definitions but no, brilliant inventions are described simply. Cotton Mouth Man must be summed up in just one word, perfection.

Most of the songs are written or co-written by Mr. Cotton and producer of the work, Tom Hambridge and alongside Mr. Cotton himself are performed by the crew, and the crew are: Darrell Nulisch, Gregg Allman, Warren Haynes, Ruthie Foster, Delbert McClinton, and Keb' Mo', and all are equipped with the honorable duties to submit vocal support to the living legend’s performance.

One last word. James Cotton sings here!

Shhh! No word anymore. Just listen to the Music!

Track List

01. Cotton Mouth Man
02. Midnight Train
03. Mississippi Mud
04. He Was There
05. Something For Me
06. Wrapped Around My Heart
07. Saint On Sunday
08. Hard Sometimes
09. Young Bold Women
10. Bird Nest On the Ground
11. Wasn't My Time To Go
12. Blues Is Good For You
13. Bonnie Blue