Review: J.B. Hutto & The New Hawks - Hip Shakin' Music, Vol. 1

No doubt J.B. Hutto is one of the biggest names of 60s-70s Chicago Blues scene and he is among top persons when mentioning slide guitar Blues.

Disciple of great Elmore James and contemporary of another slide guitar great, Hound Dog Taylor, J.B. Hutto left the music industry in late 1950s and worked as a janitor to the shame of music officials but came back inevitably to say his own word in music which was sometimes described as “near-perfect”.

This album, Hip Shakin' Music, goes to the period of second incarnation of his band, when he went to Boston and formed The New Hawks with whom he recorded several studio albums and toured extensively. This one is from that row. J.B.'s guitar somersault during live recordings is widely known but what he does on this recording in UK surpasses expectations of most devoted fans. Elmore James' "The Sky Is Crying", Preston Foster's "Got My Mojo Working" and even Carl Perkins' "Blue Suede Shoes" show J.B.'s extremely skillful playing full of positive emotion. It is the highest class performance which Blues fan is more or less acquainted with but then starts closing tune, "Blues Got Soul!", more than seventeen minutes of guitar madness, killer doze of incomparable, inimitable, untiring playing during which Mr. Hutto spends every piece of his emotional resource to deliver best of what Blues can deliver.

Amazing demonstration of  stability at the peak. Five stars out of five!

Recorded Live at Jonathan Swift's Harvard Square, Cambridge.

Personnel: J.B. Hutto - guitar, vocals; Kenny Krumbholz - bass; Leroy "Lefty" Pina - drums.

Track List

01. Summertime
02. Hide And Seek
03. The Sixteen Year Old Boy
04. Mother-In-Law Blues
05. Blues Suede Shoes
06. The Sky Is Crying
07. Got My Mojo Working
08. Blues Got Soul!