35th Blues Music Awards Nominees Announced

 The Blues Foundation announced nominees for its 35th Blues Music Awards. Ceremony will be held at the Cook Convention Center in Memphis, Tennessee, May 8 of next year.

Celebrating proud 35 years of preserving America’s musical legacy, nominees and nominations for 2014 awards are much more traditional Blues oriented than in recent years. Here are the figures: great James Cotton, torchbearer of Chicago Blues harmonica playing received five nominations (album, instrumentalist, song, traditional blues album, and traditional blues male artist categories for his fantastic 2013 release, Cotton Mouth Man) as did Lurrie Bell (son of late great harp player, Carey Bell) and harmonica ace Charlie Musselwhite. Another legend, Buddy Guy received four nominations (album, entertainer, contemporary blues album, and contemporary blues male artist), Doug MacLeod received three nominations.

Album of the year will be definitely awarded to acclaimed Blues artist to be chosen among James Cotton, Buddy Guy, Lurrie Bell, and Charlie Musselwhite (two nominations: with Ben Harper and in quintet consisting of him and Billy Boy Arnold, Mark Hummel, Sugar Ray Norcia & James Harman).

Apart from Little G Weevil, all nominees for acoustic artist are matured musicians having numerous nominations and awards including Doug MacLeod, Guy Davis, Rory Block and Harrison Kennedy.

Blues fans will also find their beloved performers like piano diva Marcia Ball, Blues vocalist Zora Young, harpists and singers Bobby Rush and Billy Boy Arnold, and guitarists John Primer and Anson Funderburgh as well as newcomers: Shawn Holt (son of late Magic Slim), Paul Gabriel, Gracie Curran, Adrianna Marie, Clay Swafford, and Valerie June.

Complete list of nominees for 35th Blues Music Awards:

Acoustic Album

There's a Time - Doug MacLeod
Juba dance - Guy Davis featuring Fabrizio Poggi
Soulscape - Harrison Kennedy
Avalon - Rory Block
Unleashed - The Hound Kings

Acoustic Artist
Doug MacLeod
Guy Davis
Harrison Kennedy
Little G Weevil
Rory Block

Get Up! - Ben Harper with Charlie Musselwhite
Remembering Little Walter - Billy Boy Arnold, Charlie Musselwhite, Mark Hummel, Sugar Ray Norcia & James Harman
Rhythm & Blues - Buddy Guy
Cotton Mouth Man - James Cotton
Blues in My Soul - Lurrie Bell

B.B. King Entertainer
Bobby Rush
Buddy Guy
John Németh
Kim Wilson
Rick Estrin

Lil Ed & the Blues Imperials
Rick Estrin & the Night Cats
Tedeschi Trucks Band
The Mannish Boys
Trampled Under Foot

Best New Artist Debut
Double Crossing Blues - Adrianna Marie and Her Groovecutters
Rooster - Clay Swafford
Proof of Love - Gracie Curran & the High Falutin' Band
What's the Chance... - Paul Gabriel
Daddy Told Me - Shawn Holt & the Teardrops
Pushin’ Against a Stone - Valerie June

Contemporary Blues Album
Get Up! - Ben Harper with Charlie Musselwhite
This Time Another Year - Brandon Santini
Rhythm & Blues - Buddy Guy
Magic Honey - Cyril Neville
Badlands - Trampled Under Foot

Contemporary Blues Female Artist
Ana Popovic
Beth Hart
Bettye LaVette
Candye Kane
Susan Tedeschi

Contemporary Blues Male Artist
Buddy Guy
Gary Clark, Jr.
Johnny Sansone
Kim Wilson
Otis Taylor

High John Records - Time Brings About a Change (Floyd Dixon)
J&R Adventures - An Acoustic Evening at the Vienna Opera House (Joe Bonamassa)
Shake-It-Sugar Records – Live (Murali Coryell)
Ruf Records - Songs from the Road (Royal Southern Brotherhood)
Blue Star Connection - Live at Knuckleheads (The Healers)

The Sun Blues Box (Various Artists) - Bear Family
The Original Honeydripper (Roosevelt Sykes) - Blind Pig Records
The Jewel/Paula Blues Story (Various Artists) - Fuel Records
Death Might Be Your Santa Claus (Various Artists) - Legacy Recordings 
The Complete King/Federal Singles (Freddie King) - Real Gone Music

Bill Stuve
Bob Stroger
Danielle Schnebelen
Larry Taylor
Patrick Rynn

Cedric Burnside
Jimi Bott
Kenny Smith
Tom Hambridge
Tony Braunagel

Anson Funderburgh
Gary Clark, Jr.
Kid Andersen
Lurrie Bell
Ronnie Earl

Brandon Santini
Charlie Musselwhite
James Cotton
Kim Wilson
Rick Estrin

Big James Montgomery
Eddie Shaw
Jimmy Carpenter
Sax Gordon
Terry Hanck

Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female)
Diunna Greenleaf
Lavelle White
Teeny Tucker
Trudy Lynn
Zora Young

Rock Blues Album
Gone to Texas - Mike Zito & the Wheel
Made Up Mind - Tedeschi Trucks Band
Can't Get Enough - The Rides
John the Conquer Root - Toronzo Cannon
Luther's Blues - Walter Trout

Pinetop Perkins Piano Player
Barrellhouse Chuck
Dave Keyes
Marcia Ball
Mike Finnigan
Victor Wainwright

“Blues in My Soul” - Lurrie Bell 
“He Was There” – James Cotton, Tom Hambridge & Richard Fleming
“That's When the Blues Begins” - James Goode
“The Entitled Few” - Doug MacLeod
“The Night the Pie Factory Burned Down” - Johnny Sansone

Soul Blues Album
Down In Louisiana - Bobby Rush
Soul Changes - Dave Keller
Soul for Your Blues - Frank Bey & Anthony Paule Ban
Remembering O. V. - Johnny Rawls
Truth Is (Putting Love Back Into the Music) - Otis Clay

Soul Blues Female Artist
Barbara Carr
Denise LaSalle
Dorothy Moore
Irma Thomas
Sista Monica

Soul Blues Male Artist
Bobby Rush
Frank Bey
John Nemeth
Johnny Rawls
Otis Clay

Traditional Blues Album
Driftin' from Town to Town - Barrelhouse Chuck & Kim Wilson's Blues All-Stars
Remembering Little Walter - Billy Boy Arnold, Charlie Musselwhite, Mark Hummel, Sugar Ray Norcia, James Harman
Cotton Mouth Man - James Cotton
Blues in My Soul - Lurrie Bell
Black Toppin' - The Cash Box Kings

Traditional Blues Male Artist
Anson Funderburgh
Billy Boy Arnold
James Cotton
John Primer
Lurrie Bell