1996 - 17th W.C. Handy Blues Awards

Acoustic Blues Artist of The Year

Cephas & Wiggins
Corey Harris
John Hammond
Keb' Mo'
Lonnie Pitchford
Acoustic Blues Album of The Year
Catfish Keith - Fresh Catfish
Corey Harris - Between Midnight & Day
Howard Armstrong - Louie Bluie
Paul Geremia - Self Portrait in Blues
Rory Block - When a Woman Gets the Blues
Best New Blues Artist
Coco Montoya
Corey Harris
Dave Thompson
Mem Shannon
Paul "Wine" Jones
Blues Band of The Year
Anson Funderburgh & the Rockets featuring Sam Myers
Joe Louis Walker & the Bosstalkers
Little Charlie & the Nightcats
Rod Piazza and the Mighty Flyers
Roomful of Blues
Blues Entertainer of the Year
B.B. King
Little Milton
Luther Allison
R.L. Burnside
Rod Piazza
Blues Instrumentalist - Bass
Aron Burton
Calvin Jones
Johnny B. Gayden
Sister Sarah Brown
Willie Kent
Blues Instrumentalist - Drums
Jimi Bott
Ray "Killer" Allison
Sam Lay
Ted Harvey (Jimmy Rogers)
Willie "Big Eyes" Smith
Blues Instrumentalist - Guitar
Coco Montoya
Joe Louis Walker
Luther Allison
Ronnie Earl
Steady Rollin' Bob Margolin
Blues Instrumentalist - Harmonica
Billy Boy Arnold
Carey Bell
Charlie Musselwhite
Kim Wilson
Rod Piazza
Blues Instrumentalist - Keyboards
Charles Brown
Johnnie Johnson
Marcia Ball
Miss Honey Alexander (Piazza)
Pinetop Perkins
Blues Instrumentalist - Other
Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown - violin
Lonnie Pitchford - one string
Memphis Horns
Roomful of Blues - Horn Section
Sonny Rhodes - Lapsteel
Blues Song of The Year: Song Title - Composer (Artist/Album Title)
Bluesifyin' - Joe Louis Walker (Joe Louis Walker/Blues of the Month Club)
Cherry Red Wine-Luther Allison (Luther Allison/Blue Streak)
Here's Your Map Mr. Johnson-Keri Leigh, Mark Lyon, Thomas Anderson (Keri Leigh/Arrival)
Move From the Hood-Luther Allison & James Solberg (Luther Allison/Blue Streak)
The Blues Follow Me Around-Carl Weathersby (Billy Branch/ The Blues Keep Following Me Around)
Comeback Blues Album
Bonnie Lee - Sweetheart of the Blues
Floyd McDaniel & the Blues Swingers - Let Your Hair Down
Jimmy Johnson - I'm A Jockey
Percy Sledge - Blue Night
Syl Johnson - Back in the Game
Contemporary Blues Female Artist of The Year
Debbie Davies
Keri Leigh
Koko Taylor
Marcia Ball
Tracy Nelson
Contemporary Blues Male Artist of The Year
Coco Montoya
Joe Louis Walker
Luther Allison
Otis Rush
Robert Ward
Contemporary Blues Album of The Year
Albert Collins & the Icebreakers - Live '92-'93
Coco Montoya - Gotta Mind to Travel
Dave Thompson - Little Dave & Big Love
Joe Louis Walker - Blues of the Month Club
Luther Allison - Blue Streak
Reissue Album of The Year
J.B. Lenoir - Vietnam Blues
Little Walter - Blues With a Feeling
Otis Rush - So Many Roads
Otis Spann - Down to Earth/The Bluesway Recordings
T-Bone Walker - The Complete Capitol and Black & White
Soul/Blues Female Artist of The Year
Denise LaSalle
E.C. Scott
Etta James
Lavelle White
Toni Lynn Washington
Soul/Blues - Male Artist of The Year
Bobby Parker
Little Milton
Otis Clay
Solomon Burke
Syl Johnson
Soul/Blues Album of The Year
Bobby Parker - Shine Me Up
Little Buster & the Soul Bros - Right on Time
Mighty Sam McClain - Keep on Movin'
Percy Sledge - Blue Night
Syl Johnson - Back in the Game
Traditional Blues Female Artist of The Year
Anne Rabson
Bonnie Lee
Deitra Farr
Katie Webster
Saffire, the Uppity Blues Women
Traditional Blues Male Artist of The Year
David "Honeyboy" Edwards
Jimmy Rogers
Jr. Kimbrough
R.L. Burnside
Robert Lockwood, Jr.
Traditional Blues Album of The Year
Billy Boy Arnold - El Dorado Cadillac
John Lee Hooker - Chill Out
Louisiana Red - Sittin' Here Wonderin'
Paul "Wine" Jones - Mule
Smokey Wilson - The Real Deal