2001 - 22nd W.C. Handy Blues Awards

Acoustic Blues Album of The Year

Corey Harris/Henry Butler-VüDü Menz
Eric Bibb-Home to Me
Guy Davis-Butt Naked Free
Jerry Ricks-Many Miles of Blues
Robert Lockwood, Jr. - Delta Crossroads
Acoustic Blues-Artist of The Year
Alvin Youngblood Hart
Cephas & Wiggins
Corey Harris
Guy Davis
Jerry Ricks
Keb' Mo'
Best New Artist Debut
Beverly Watkins-Back in Business
Calvin Jackson-Goin' Down South
North Mississippi Allstars-Shake Hands With Shorty
Sean Costello-Cuttin' In
Willie King-Freedom Creek
Blues Album of The Year
Big Jack Johnson-Roots Stew
Corey Harris/Henry Butler-Vu Du Menz
Eddy Clearwater-Reservation Blues
Shemekia Copeland-Wicked
Son Seals-Lettin' Go
Blues Band of The Year
Anson Funderburgh & the Rockets w/ Sam Myers
B.B. King Band
Johnnie Bassett & the Blues Insurgents
Magic Slim & the Teardrops
Rod Piazza & the Mighty Flyers
Taj Mahal & the Phantom Blues Band
Blues Entertainer of The Year
B.B. King
Bobby Rush
Little Milton
Rod Piazza
Shemekia Copeland
Taj Mahal
Blues Instrumentalist-Bass
Bill Stuve
Calvin "Fuzz" Jones
Michael "Mudcat" Ward
Nick Holt
Willie Kent
Blues Instrumentalist-Drums
Chris Layton-Double Trouble
R.J. Spangler-The Blues Insurgents
Sam Carr
Sam Lay
Willie "Big Eyes" Smith
Blues Instrumentalist-Guitar
Carl Weathersby
Duke Robillard
Kid Ramos
Ronnie Earl
Roy Gaines
Blues Instrumentalist-Harmonica
Carey Bell
Charlie Musselwhite
James Cotton
Rod Piazza
Snooky Pryor
Blues Instrumentalist-Horns
Eddie Shaw
Kaz Kazanoff
Memphis Horns
Roomful of Blues Horns
Sax Gordon
Blues Instrumentalist-Keyboards
Dave Maxwell
Henry Butler
Honey Piazza
Marcia Ball
Pinetop Perkins
Blues Instrumentalist-Other
Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown-Fiddle
Claude "Fiddler" Williams-Fiddle
Freddie Roulette-Lap Steel Guitar
Otha Turner-Fife
Sonny Rhodes-Lap Steel Guitar
Blues Song of The Year
G. Davis-Waiting on the Cards to Fall, Guy Davis, Butt Naked Free
J. Johnson-So Long Frank Frost, Big Jack Johnson, Roots Stew
K. Leipziger/R. Fleming-WInds of Change, Eddy Clearwater, Reservation Blues
R. Lily/J. Armstrong/M. Heaney-Pennies and Picks, James Armstrong, Got It Goin' On
R. Vito-It's 2AM, Shemekia Copeland, Wicked
Comeback Blues Album
Charles Walker-Leavin' This Old Town
Don Covay-Adlib
Little Arthur Duncan-Singin' with the Sun
Mel Brown-Neck Bones & Caviar
Rosco Gordon-Memphis, Tennessee
Contemporary Blues Album of The Year
B.B. King/Eric Clapton-Riding with the King
Eddy Clearwater-Reservation Blues
Kid Ramos-West Coast House Party
R.L. Burnside-Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down
Shemekia Copeland-Wicked
Contemporary Blues Female Artist of The Year
Debbie Davies
Deborah Coleman
Marcia Ball
Shemekia Copeland
Susan Tedeschi
Contemporary Blues Male Artist of The Year
Carl Weathersby
Eddy Clearwater
James Armstrong
Larry Garner
Roy Gaines
Historical Album of The Year
James Harman-Mo' Na'kins, Please
Otis Spann-Last Call
Robert Nighthawk-Live On Maxwell Street 1964
Various Artists-And This Is Maxwell Street
William Clarke-Tip of the Top
Soul/Blues Album of The Year
Bobby Rush-Hoochie Man
Darrell Nulisch-I Like It That Way
E.C. Scott-Masterpiece
Irma Thomas-My Heart's In Memphis
Mighty Sam McClain-Blues for the Soul
Soul/Blues Female Artist of The Year
E.C. Scott
Etta James
Irma Thomas
Toni Lynn Washington
Trudy Lynn
Soul/Blues Male Artist of The Year
Bobby Bland
Bobby Rush
Johnnie Taylor
Little Milton
Mighty Sam McClain
Traditional Blues Album of The Year
Big Jack Johnson-Roots Stew
Magic Slim-Snakebite
Snooky Pryor/Mel Brown-Double Shot
Son Seals-Lettin Go
Willie Cobbs-Jukin'
Traditional Blues Female Artist of The Year
Alberta Adams
Ann Rabson
Carol Fran
Koko Taylor
Ruth Brown
Traditional Blues Male Artist of The Year
Big Jack Johnson
James Cotton
Magic Slim
R.L. Burnside
Robert Lockwood Jr.
Snooky Pryor