2005 - 26th W.C. Handy Blues Awards

Acoustic Blues Album of The Year

Billy Branch & Kenny Neal - "Double Take"
Carey & Lurrie Bell - "Second Nature"
Corey Harris - "Mississippi To Mali"
Paul Oscher - "Alone With The Blues"
Paul Rishell & Annie Raines - "Goin' Home"
Acoustic Blues Artist of The Year
Corey Harris
David "Honeyboy" Edwards
Eric Bibb
Paul Oscher
Paul Rishell & Annie Raines
Best New Artist Debut
John Lee Hooker, Jr. - "Blues With A Vengence"
Michael Powers - "Onyx Root"
Nora Jean Bruso - "Going Back To Mississippi"
The Bo-Keys - "The Royal Sessions"
Watermelon Slim - "Up Close & Perso  nal"
Blues Album of The Year
Guitar Shorty - "Watch Your Back"
Mavis Staples - "Have A Little Faith"
Rod Piazza and the Mighty Flyers - "Keepin' It Real"
The Holmes Brothers - "Simple Truths"
W.C. Clark - "Deep In The Heart"
Blues Band of The Year
Anson Funderburgh & The Rockets
Little Charlie & The Nightcats
Magic Slim & The Teardrops
Rod Piazza & The Mighty Flyers
Smokin' Joe Kubek Band
The Holmes Brothers
Blues Entertainer of The Year
B.B. King
Bobby Rush
Kim Wilson
Pinetop Perkins
Solomon Burke
Blues Song of The Year
"Alone With The Blues" - WRITER Paul Oscher , Performed by Paul Oscher
"Have A Little Faith"- WRITER Jim Tullio and Jim Weider, Performed by Mavis Staples
"Nothin' Ever Hurt Me"- WRITER EG Kight, Performed by EG Kight
"Piecework Politicians" - WRITER James Harman, Performed by James Harman
"Run Myself Out Of Town"- WRITER Wendell Holmes, Performed by The Holmes Brothers
Comeback Blues Album of The Year
Big Joe Duskin - "Big Joe Jumps Again!"
Gary U.S. Bonds - "Back In 20"
Contemporary Blues Album of The Year
Charlie Musselwhite - "Sanctuary"
Guitar Shorty - "Watch Your Back"
Michael Powers - "Onyx Root"
Ronnie Earl & The Broadcasters - "Now My Soul"
The Holmes Brothers - "Simple Truths"
Contemporary Blues Female Artist of The Year
Deborah Coleman
EG Kight
Janiva Magness
Marcia Ball
Shemekia Copeland
Contemporary Blues Male Artist of The Year
Charlie Musselwhite
Chris Thomas King
James Harman
Kim Wilson
Robert Randolph
Historical Blues Album of The Year
Charles Brown - "A Life In The Blues" (Rounder Records)
Hound Dog Taylor - "Release The Hound" (Alligator Records)
Johnny Winter - "Second Winter" (Columbia/Legacy)
Lucille Bogan - "Shave 'em Dry" (Columbia/Legacy)
Muddy Waters - "Hard Again" (Epic/Legacy)
Muddy Waters - "I'm Ready" (Epic/Legacy)
Bill Stuve
Bob Stroger
Calvin "Fuzz" Jones
Mookie Brill
Sherman Holmes
Willie Kent
Jimi Bott
Popsy Dixon
Sam Carr
Sam Lay
Willie "Big Eyes" Smith
Bob Margolin
Duke Robillard
Kirk Fletcher
Ronnie Earl
Roy Rogers
Charlie Musselwhite
James Harman
Kim Wilson
Paul Oscher
Rod Piazza
Calvin Owens - Trumpet
Greg Piccolo - Saxophone
Mark Kazanoff - Saxophone
Roomful of Blues Horns
Sax Gordon - Saxophone
Dave Maxwell
Henry Butler
Honey Piazza
Jon Cleary
Marcia Ball
Andra Faye - Mandolin
Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown - Fiddle
Otis Taylor - Banjo
Robert Randolph - Pedal Steel Guitar
Sonny Rhodes - Lap Steel Guitar
Soul/Blues Album of The Year
Bobby Rush - "Folk Funk"
Charles Wilson - "If Heartaches Were Nickels"
Mavis Staples - "Have A Little Faith"
Tad Robinson - "Did You Ever Wonder?"
W.C. Clark - "Deep In The Heart"
Soul/Blues-Female Artist of The Year
Barbara Lynn
Bettye LaVette
Etta James
Mavis Staples
Toni Lynn Washington
Soul/Blues-Male Artist of The Year
Bobby Rush
Little Milton
Solomon Burke
Tad Robinson
W.C. Clark
Traditional Blues Album of The Year
Duke Robillard - "Blue Mood: The Songs Of T-Bone Walker"
James Cotton - "Baby Don't You Tear My Clothes"
Jody Williams - "You Left Me In The Dark"
Pinetop Perkins - "Ladies Man"
Sam Myers - "Coming From The Old School"
Traditional Blues-Female Artist of The Year
Jessie Mae Hemphill
Koko Taylor
Maria Muldaur
Nora Jean Bruso
Ruth Brown
Traditional Blues-Male Artist of The Year
Hubert Sumlin
Jody Williams
Pinetop Perkins
Robert Lockwood Jr.
Sam Myers